r3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Have a project that you want to share, but it's not big enough to warrant an entire category? This is the place.
User avatar
K4sum1
Lazy Owner
Posts: 877
Joined: 11 Jan 2021, 07:40
Location: ur dads house
OS: Windows 8.1 x64
Has thanked: 543 times
Been thanked: 248 times
Contact:
United States of America

r3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by K4sum1 »

r3dfox is release branch Firefox made to work on Windows 7/8. Also with limited compatibility for XP using OCAPI and Vista using the extended kernel.

Main download: https://github.com/Eclipse-Community/r3dfox/releases

Alternative download: https://sourceforge.net/projects/r3dfox/files/

If you run into any bugs or issues, please report it on GitHub under the issues tab. I am more likely to get to it and remember to fix it if it's there. If you don't have a GitHub account, here is fine too.
R3n who?

User avatar
luk3Z
Posts: 79
Joined: 10 Dec 2021, 19:23
Location: Metavira
OS: XP/Vista/W7 x64, MX
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 42 times
Micronesia

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by luk3Z »

Someone even made a video on XP:

User avatar
xperceniol_sal
Posts: 79
Joined: 03 Jan 2023, 19:32
Mood: Fine
OS: XP_86
Has thanked: 71 times
Been thanked: 51 times
United States of America

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by xperceniol_sal »

Best of luck with the new project. :)
"He who spreads fear, can also be shaken to spread comfort."

User avatar
luk3Z
Posts: 79
Joined: 10 Dec 2021, 19:23
Location: Metavira
OS: XP/Vista/W7 x64, MX
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 42 times
Micronesia

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by luk3Z »

FF Legacy look & feel

Firefox tab height:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1339088

Bookmarks/Sidebar line spacing:
%AppData%\Eclipse Community\r3dfox\Profiles\(your profile).default-default\chrome\userChrome.css:

Code: Select all

/* Minimize height of sidebar items */
.sidebar-placesTreechildren::-moz-tree-row {
    min-height: 18px !important;
    height: 18px !important;
    max-height: 18px !important;
}

/*** Tighten up drop-down/context/popup menu spacing ***/

menupopup > menuitem, menupopup > menu {
  padding-block: 0px !important;
}
:root {
  --arrowpanel-menuitem-padding: 4px 8px !important;
}
Sources:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1337841
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1337931
https://support.mozilla.com/en-US/questions/1439545
Last edited by luk3Z on 07 Apr 2024, 12:21, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
K4sum1
Lazy Owner
Posts: 877
Joined: 11 Jan 2021, 07:40
Location: ur dads house
OS: Windows 8.1 x64
Has thanked: 543 times
Been thanked: 248 times
Contact:
United States of America

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by K4sum1 »

Going to be a bit busy with other projects, so r3dfox 123 might be delayed a bit.
R3n who?


Duke
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Mar 2024, 13:32
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by Duke »

Hi,

There is a problem on one specific site with all versions 123 of R3dfox, WebRender fix and pre WebRender fix, but it's working fine with version 122 and also with official Firefox ESR 115.8. I'm using Windows 8.1 x64.
The site is xxxxxxxx.com (Edit: site removed since it's now working fine)
With version 122, select a cam and the video plays straight away without any problem, you can select the resolution in bottom right corner of the player.
But with version 123 if you open the same cam page then it struggles, it plays the video for about 1 second, then hangs, then plays again for 1 or 2 seconds, hangs again, then it looks like another type of player is used where you can't select the resolution and which is playing at about 1 FPS.
I haven't notice any difference in the browser console. But I have no problems on Youtube and Dailymotion.
Last edited by Duke on 18 Mar 2024, 13:23, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
K4sum1
Lazy Owner
Posts: 877
Joined: 11 Jan 2021, 07:40
Location: ur dads house
OS: Windows 8.1 x64
Has thanked: 543 times
Been thanked: 248 times
Contact:
United States of America

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by K4sum1 »

Duke wrote: 16 Mar 2024, 14:22 There is a problem on one specific site with all versions 123 of R3dfox, WebRender fix and pre WebRender fix, but it's working fine with version 122 and also with official Firefox ESR 115.8. I'm using Windows 8.1 x64.
It being fine on 8.1 makes me think it's upstream, but I would need someone to winvertroll regular 123 and test it on 8.1, and test it on 10 too.

When I get around to releasing 124, lemme know if it's still an issue.
R3n who?

Duke
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Mar 2024, 13:32
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by Duke »

I have made a new fresh installation of R3dfox version 123 WebRender fix, installed the exact same extensions and it's working fine. So the problem occurs when I update my version 122 to version 123, there must be something in my profile config that version 123 doesn't like.

In about:support at the end of the Graphics section I have these errors that I don't have with version 122 neither with the fresh version 123 nor with Firefox ESR 115.8:

Failure Log
(#0) GP+[GFX1-]: [D3D11] 2 CreateTexture2D failure Size: Size(426,240)texture11: false Code: 0x80070057
(#1) GP+[GFX1-]: [D3D11] 2 CreateTexture2D failure Size: Size(854,480)texture11: false Code: 0x80070057
(#2) GP+[GFX1-]: [D3D11] 2 CreateTexture2D failure Size: Size(854,480)texture11: false Code: 0x80070057
(#3) GP+[GFX1-]: [D3D11] 2 CreateTexture2D failure Size: Size(426,240)texture11: false Code: 0x80070057

I've found these pages about this error number but as I said I don't get the errors with version 122 and fresh 123:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/topic/-code-0x80070057-the-parameter-is-incorrect-error-when-you-try-to-display-a-user-s-effective-access-to-a-file-343394a6-1d65-802f-6e9e-91d94c661185
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/topic/-0x80070057-error-message-when-you-back-up-files-in-windows-7-baf51f0e-60de-4003-ace0-982b4eae16a9

Any ideas ?

User avatar
K4sum1
Lazy Owner
Posts: 877
Joined: 11 Jan 2021, 07:40
Location: ur dads house
OS: Windows 8.1 x64
Has thanked: 543 times
Been thanked: 248 times
Contact:
United States of America

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by K4sum1 »

Not sure then. Probably upstream bug if I had to guess.
R3n who?

Duke
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Mar 2024, 13:32
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by Duke »

So I've copied some of my config files (favicons, places, prefs, logins with key and cert) from the working version 122 to the new fresh version 123 profile folder, then imported the settings of my extensions, and... everything seems to be working fine. :|
However, the address bar and the suggestion list below it when you type something are now using a smaller font than with version 122, not sure why.
And I've also lost the black title bar (I'm using both the dark mode and the dark theme) but I guess it's because of the Aero thingy. Is there a way for Windows 8.1 users to get the black title bar back ?
Last edited by Duke on 17 Mar 2024, 22:12, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
K4sum1
Lazy Owner
Posts: 877
Joined: 11 Jan 2021, 07:40
Location: ur dads house
OS: Windows 8.1 x64
Has thanked: 543 times
Been thanked: 248 times
Contact:
United States of America

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by K4sum1 »

Duke wrote: 17 Mar 2024, 16:09 However, the address bar is now using a smaller font than with version 122, not sure why.
And I've also lost the black title bar (I'm using both the dark mode and the dark theme) but I guess it's because of the Aero thingy. Is there a way for Windows 8.1 users to get the black title bar back ?
I think the address bar is upstream but I need to check.

You can install a theme that replaces the background and it should work? I haven't tested because I like Aero. It's still a bodge, I hope to improve it.
R3n who?

Duke
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Mar 2024, 13:32
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by Duke »

Duke wrote: 17 Mar 2024, 16:09 However, the address bar and the suggestion list below it when you type something are now using a smaller font than with version 122, not sure why.
Solved by adding "#urlbar {font-size: 10pt !important}" to userChrome.css.

K4sum1 wrote: 17 Mar 2024, 17:28 You can install a theme that replaces the background and it should work?
Well, I think the default dark theme is supposed to do that. And it works with non Aero versions ;)

Duke
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Mar 2024, 13:32
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by Duke »

Differences between version 122 and version 123 in about:support → Media → Codecs
Version 122 shows Hardware Decoding is Supported for H264
Version 123 shows Hardware Decoding is Unsupported for H264

Hardware decoding for H264 is working fine on this PC with D2D, D3D9 and D3D11. Proven with Dxdiag, VLC, MPV and MPC-HC.

User avatar
luk3Z
Posts: 79
Joined: 10 Dec 2021, 19:23
Location: Metavira
OS: XP/Vista/W7 x64, MX
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 42 times
Micronesia

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by luk3Z »

I did some tests with RF (my env. XP x64 + OCAPI 3.0.5 + [NNN4NT5]).

1. If I install r3dfox-122.0.1 then RF works ok
2. If I install r3dfox-123.0.2 then settings window & url bar doesn't work
3. If I uninstall r3dfox-122.0.1 and install r3dfox-123.0.2 then it possibly reads old profile & works ok

User avatar
K4sum1
Lazy Owner
Posts: 877
Joined: 11 Jan 2021, 07:40
Location: ur dads house
OS: Windows 8.1 x64
Has thanked: 543 times
Been thanked: 248 times
Contact:
United States of America

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by K4sum1 »

Not sure what causes that. Maybe don't use NNN4NT5? Issue like that is so weird.
R3n who?

User avatar
luk3Z
Posts: 79
Joined: 10 Dec 2021, 19:23
Location: Metavira
OS: XP/Vista/W7 x64, MX
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 42 times
Micronesia

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by luk3Z »

Nevermind I made a script to add variables permanently (according to message on GH from Feb 6):
RF.cmd

Code: Select all

@echo on
setx MOZ_DISABLE_CONTENT_SANDBOX 1
setx MOZ_DISABLE_GMP_SANDBOX 1
setx MOZ_DISABLE_GPU_SANDBOX 1
setx MOZ_DISABLE_NPAPI_SANDBOX 1
setx MOZ_DISABLE_RDD_SANDBOX 1
setx MOZ_DISABLE_SOCKET_PROCESS_SANDBOX 1
pause
Now it works :)
I also found some cool info about Mozilla's Sandbox: https://wiki.mozilla.org/Security/Sandbox

Duke
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Mar 2024, 13:32
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by Duke »

Duke wrote: 19 Mar 2024, 14:51 Differences between version 122 and version 123 in about:support → Media → Codecs
Version 122 shows Hardware Decoding is Supported for H264
Version 123 shows Hardware Decoding is Unsupported for H264
FYI this Win32 portable build of R3dfox 124 is showing Hardware Decoding is supported for H264:
https://github.com/adeii/supermium-portable/releases/download/F1235/R3dfox-portable-win32-124.0-24.7z

There is something wrong with version 123 builds.

Duke
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Mar 2024, 13:32
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by Duke »

Problem with latest release 124.0.2 "Aero" when using both dark mode and dark theme on Windows 8.1, the right click context menu background is all white and some options are not visible:

R3dfox124Aero.png
R3dfox124Aero.png (30.17 KiB) Viewed 1535 times
R3dfox124Aero2.png
R3dfox124Aero2.png (12.33 KiB) Viewed 1535 times

User avatar
K4sum1
Lazy Owner
Posts: 877
Joined: 11 Jan 2021, 07:40
Location: ur dads house
OS: Windows 8.1 x64
Has thanked: 543 times
Been thanked: 248 times
Contact:
United States of America

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by K4sum1 »

Added it to this GitHub issue. I might take a peek at it later idk.

https://github.com/Eclipse-Community/r3dfox/issues/37
R3n who?

Duke
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Mar 2024, 13:32
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by Duke »

Btw, I've read some people don't like the R3dfox logo but I must say that I like it a lot, I find it classy, really :)
Thanks for your work :!:

Duke
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Mar 2024, 13:32
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

R3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by Duke »

About removing telemetry and other annoyances, you could either have a look at LibreWolf source code and/or use the distribution folder trick: create a folder named "distribution" in the Core main folder, where R3dfox.exe is, then inside this "distribution" folder create a file named "policies.json" which contains the following text:

Code: Select all

{
	"policies": {
		"DisableAppUpdate": true,
		"DisableFeedbackCommands": true,
		"DisableFirefoxStudies": true,
		"DisablePocket": true,
		"DisableTelemetry": true
	}
}
See about:policies#documentation for the list of available policies.

Duke
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Mar 2024, 13:32
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

r3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by Duke »

I've just tested R3dfox 124.0.3 with dark mode and dark theme on Windows 8.1 and I still can't read some settings menus (see https://board.eclipse.cx/viewtopic.php?p=4775#p4775):

r3dfox124-0-3-Menus.png
r3dfox124-0-3-Menus.png (5.05 KiB) Viewed 1247 times


This translate option is missing, so I'm getting very annoying translate popups every now and then:

r3dfox124-0-3-TranslatePopup.png
r3dfox124-0-3-TranslatePopup.png (16.6 KiB) Viewed 1247 times

It looks like the hotfix version finally solved the problem I had with the videos on some sites, good job :thumbup:

And BTW, IMHO this browser is called R3dfox, that's it. Everybody is calling it like that, it sounds better, so forget about R3dactedfox :idea:
R3dactedfox is too long plus R3dfox matches better with Firefox ;)

User avatar
K4sum1
Lazy Owner
Posts: 877
Joined: 11 Jan 2021, 07:40
Location: ur dads house
OS: Windows 8.1 x64
Has thanked: 543 times
Been thanked: 248 times
Contact:
United States of America

r3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by K4sum1 »

Yeah I need to get around to fixing those menus, but I'm not entirely sure what they are. Probably going to tackle them with 125.

Translate being gone might be related to removing telemetry, but not sure. I would need to see how stock Firefox and Mercury behaves.

Yeah r3dacted is a bit of a meme, I might just keep it for the about logo and have it be Eclipse r3dfox again.
R3n who?

Duke
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Mar 2024, 13:32
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

r3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by Duke »

K4sum1 wrote: 07 Apr 2024, 21:03 Translate being gone might be related to removing telemetry, but not sure. I would need to see how stock Firefox and Mercury behaves.
The corresponding key browser.translations.automaticallyPopup does exist in about:config so it's just not displayed in the settings.
Setting it to False seems to have stopped the popups.


After several tests, I can confirm the hotfix version has no problems anymore with online videos and the error messages I had in about:support are gone :thumbup:
Since it looks like you are in touch with the guy who is making these builds: https://github.com/adeii/supermium-portable/releases/tag/F1235
Maybe you could share your fix with him so he can fix the LibreWolf build which has the same video problem I had with R3dfox ;)

Duke
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Mar 2024, 13:32
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

r3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by Duke »

Admin Edit: This is not part of official r3dfox, and was included in a portable modification.

I've just noticed it has installed an extension named "Adblocker for Youtube" without asking me or any prompt of any kind :o

Duke
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Mar 2024, 13:32
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

r3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by Duke »

I've found it, it's in r3dfox-portable-win64-124.0.2.zip archive that I've downloaded from https://github.com/adeii/supermium-portable/releases/download/F1235/r3dfox-portable-win64-124.0.2.zip

I guess I can safely delete the XPI file and its related folders browser-extension-data and extensions\staged ?
Last edited by Duke on 07 Apr 2024, 23:37, edited 1 time in total.

Duke
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Mar 2024, 13:32
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

r3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by Duke »

K4sum1 wrote: 08 Apr 2024, 00:11 I edited your first post about this so it gets seen first before the addon talk since I don't want people to see this and think it's a issue with r3dfox itself.
You can, and you should, delete all of the posts about this extension since we now know where it came from and R3dfox or Mozilla are not to blame.

Duke
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Mar 2024, 13:32
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

r3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by Duke »

About the "it keeps connecting to 93.243.107.34.bc.googleusercontent.com just like R3dfox did. And if I kill the connection it's coming back 5 seconds later." I have noticed some things:
  • It doesn't happen with previous versions of R3dfox but only with version 124 and there are MANY of them. I still have version 122 and it doesn't happen, I have only one connection to *.googleusercontent.com and I know it's one of the uBlock filters.
  • At least, the connections don't come back now after being closed but they do come back with a fresh new profile.
  • Someone posted a log here: https://github.com/Eclipse-Community/r3dfox/issues/6#issuecomment-2046476888
    All of these connections starting with 34.1*.*.* are from googleusercontent.com domain:

    2024/04/10 11:16:04 tcp.go:1122: SYN 34.107.221.82:80
    2024/04/10 11:16:05 tcp.go:1122: SYN 34.107.221.82:80
    2024/04/10 11:16:04 tcp.go:1122: SYN 34.107.221.82:80
    2024/04/10 11:16:05 tcp.go:1122: SYN 34.160.144.191:443
    2024/04/10 11:16:05 tcp.go:1122: SYN 34.107.221.82:80
    2024/04/10 11:16:05 tcp.go:1122: SYN 34.107.221.82:80
    2024/04/10 11:16:05 tcp.go:1122: SYN 34.149.100.209:443
    2024/04/10 11:16:05 tcp.go:1122: SYN 34.160.144.191:443
    2024/04/10 11:16:05 tcp.go:1122: SYN 34.149.100.209:443
    2024/04/10 11:16:05 tcp.go:1122: SYN 34.107.221.82:80
    2024/04/10 11:16:05 tcp.go:1122: SYN 34.107.221.82:80
    2024/04/10 11:16:05 tcp.go:1122: SYN 34.107.243.93:443
    2024/04/10 11:16:06 tcp.go:1122: SYN 34.149.100.209:443
    2024/04/10 11:16:06 tcp.go:1122: SYN 34.107.243.93:443
    2024/04/10 11:16:06 tcp.go:1122: SYN 34.149.100.209:443

    Example with 34.107.221.82:
    Name: 82.221.107.34.bc.googleusercontent.com
    IP: 34.107.221.82
    Domain: googleusercontent.com

User avatar
K4sum1
Lazy Owner
Posts: 877
Joined: 11 Jan 2021, 07:40
Location: ur dads house
OS: Windows 8.1 x64
Has thanked: 543 times
Been thanked: 248 times
Contact:
United States of America

r3dfox, modern Firefox for Windows 7!

Unread post by K4sum1 »

To ensure it's not one of the tweaks I did, can you check 124.0.2-aero?
R3n who?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest